• Recent News
  • Mortgage assistance programs have been created nationwide since the real estate crisis of 2007. However, few states have experienced the success Connecticut has had with its mediation and mortgage assistance program. To illustrate, In 2007, Connecticut ranked 8th in the United States foreclosure rate (foreclosures per total number of houses), while today it ranks 26th and boasts a foreclosure rate of one in 695 homes in contrast with the nation’s average of one in 389. Families and individuals who are facing foreclosure in Connecticut can save their home by applying for the Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program.

    The Emergency Mortgage Assistance program was revamped in 2008 to help families face the housing crisis caused by the 2007 – 2010 recession by providing temporary mortgage payment assistance. This assistance covers monthly mortgage payments for up to five years as part of a fixed-rate subordinate mortgage. Although this mortgage is a conventional loan, in the sense that it has to be repaid, repayments only start once the family financial situation improves to a degree where they can afford the payments.

    What state are you in? Please select an item.

    Behind on your mortgage payments?: Please select an item.

    Estimated mortgage balance owed? Please select an item.

    Who is your lender? A value is required.

    First Name: A value is required.

    Last Name: A value is required.

    Primary Phone Number: A value is required.

    Secondary Phone Number:

    Your Email Address: A value is required.


    The program is only open to families who are suffering from financial difficulties due to issues out of their control, such as unemployment, medical emergencies and a rise in interest rates. This article will provide practical information for homeowners in Connecticut who want to apply for the Connecticut Housing Finance Authority’s EMAP (Emergency Mortgage Assistance Program).


    To qualify for the EMAP you must own only one home and this home must be your principal address. This is a strict requirement. You cannot have any ownership in a second piece of real estate if you want to qualify for an EMAP loan.

    You must also prove your financial reliability, payment history and credit record before the hardship was good. This means you must prove you were regular in your mortgage payments before the current hardship began. By good, the CHFA means you must have three or less 30-day late payments in the year prior to the hardship. On the other hand, if your payment history reflects a trend of financial recklessness, you are very unlikely to qualify for an EMAP loan.

    You must also prove you currently cannot afford your mortgage payments. The CHFA determines the affordability of your mortgage based on income limits that vary by area, number of dependents, illness and disabilities of family members.

    Applicants for an EMAP mortgage must apply directly to the CHFA’s Customer Call Center (877.571.2432). This program is especially important for homeowners who have attempted unsuccessfully to negotiate a mortgage modification with their lender.

    No Comments

    No comments yet.

    Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.